top of page
Search
  • j.w.

a good day

Date: November 21, 2018


So, apparently, drawing with wet media is a thing. Like, a separate thing from painting, which I guess I sort of knew but didn't really know. Like, if painting is all about how colors are placed side by side to create a sense of form and lighting and depth, and drawing is more about line and contour and stuff, it makes sense that you can use paints and inks just to draw. And looking back, it's even something I've done plenty in the past. I just never thought of it as drawing back then.


Not only is wet media drawing a thing, but I think it's a thing I really like. Especially when the model's doing short poses, it's kind of nice to be able to slap down a bunch of color first, just to put in the shape, and then draw over it with the important details. At first I didn't really know what I was doing, or how to use the brush, but by the end of class my stuff was looking like this:





At the end of class, Rudy came over as I was putting my stuff away. I asked if he wanted to see what I'd come up with, and he was really excited when I showed him those drawings. It was the most he'd ever smiled at me all semester.


To be honest, I can't stop smiling right now, either.


J.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

who is j.w.?

Date: August 28, 2018 All you need to know about me is this: I'm only one week away from my first day of art school. This blog is where I'm gonna write about all the important stuff, the stuff I'll wa

bottom of page