top of page
Search
  • j.w.

crunch time

Date: December 5, 2018


Our final projects for drawing class were assigned today, and they'll be due in two weeks. Because our teacher's Rudy, we have a ton of freedom to make our drawings whatever we want them to be; he just wants us to demonstrate the skills we've been working on all semester, like gesture, form, value, perspective – we don't even have to include all the skills, but he wants to see at least a few.


I'm not really worried about showing him what I can do technically. Rudy himself has already said he can see that I'm good at drawing. But all this semester, he's been challenging me on the content of my drawings. To "put myself on the page" and "make myself vulnerable.” Why would anyone want to be vulnerable?


Putting myself on the page, though... I think that's something I can do. So I think, for my final, I'm going to do a self-portrait. I've never done one before, but it seems like something Rudy would like. And the more I think about it, the more I wonder what it'd come out looking like...


So wish me luck.


J.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

who is j.w.?

Date: August 28, 2018 All you need to know about me is this: I'm only one week away from my first day of art school. This blog is where I'm gonna write about all the important stuff, the stuff I'll wa

bottom of page